Der kleine Saal des Hygiene-Museums mit geschlossenener U-förmiger Bestuhlung.

The Foundation


The Stiftung Deutsches Hygiene-Museum is a non profit foundation under civil law and is seated in Dresden. Its purpose is the advancement of science, education, and culture. To achieve it, the foundation receives annual matching contributions from the Free State of Saxony and from the state capital, Dresden. The foundation also receives limited grants from businesses and other foundations. The Stiftung Deutsches Hygiene-Museum has three organs: the management board, the advisory board, and the board of trustees.


The foundation management board consists of three members. The chairperson is the director of the Deutsches Hygiene-Museum. The deputy director is the chairperson's deputy.

The most important duties of the Foundation Management Board include management of the museum and personnel, the administration of the foundation's property, work scheduling, and financial planning. The management board takes action on the basis of decisions made by the foundation advisory board.



Functioning alongside the Management Board and the Advisory Board, it is the third organ of the foundation and consists of internationally respected scientists and exhibition specialists. All members of the Board of Trustees serve in an honorary capacity. They are appointed by the Saxony's minister president and the chief mayor of Dresden, the state capital of Saxony. The Board of Trustees convenes at least once a year for deliberations with the foundation's management board and advisory board.

Members of the Foundation Management Board

Prof. Klaus Vogel
Director, Chairperson of the Management Board

Gisela Staupe
Deputy Director, Museum and Exhibtion Manager

Lars Bahners
Director of Finance and Administration

Members of the Foundation Advisory Board

Saxon State Ministry of Social Affairs and Consumer Protection

Michael Bockting, Department Head

Saxon State Ministry of Finance

Bernd Engelsberger, Department Head

Saxon State Ministry for Science, Culture and Tourism

Barbara Klepsch, State Minister (Chairperson)

Municipality of Dresden; Culture and Tourism Department

Annekatrin Klepsch (Deputy Chairperson)


Municipality of Dresden; Finance and Real Estate Department

Dr. Peter Lames, Mayor

Municipality of Dresden; Labour, Social Affairs, Health and Housing Department

Dr. Kristin Klaudia Kaufmann, Mayor

The Federal Goverment Commissioner for Culture and the Media

Dr. Sebastian Saad, Head of Division

Members of the Board of Trustees

Marcel Beyer

Writer, Dresden / Georg Büchner Prize 2016, Kleist Prize 2014


Prof. Dr. Heinz Bude

Professor of Macrosociology, University of Kassel


Prof. Dr. Iris Därmann

Professor of Cultural Theory and Aesthetics, Humboldt-University Berlin


Prof. Dr. Naika Foroutan

Professor of Social Sciences, Humboldt-University Berlin


Dr. Jan Gerchow

Director of the Historisches Museum Frankfurt


Prof. Dr. Veronika Lipphardt

Professor of Science and Technology Studies, University College Freiburg


Prof. Dr. Christian Schwarke

Professor of Systematic Theology, Technische Universität Dresden